Our Relationship With Food Begins with Self-Image

Our bodies can tell us when we are hungry and what we need to eat.

Aimée Sparrow
3 min readJul 7, 2022
Pixabay License

For a while, I have been obese. I kept on thinking that if only I could lose some weight, I could look more attractive, feel better and less exhausted, and my health issues would disappear. I tried so many different diet plans and fed myself such nonsense: if I were to just stop eating so much or eat the good foods only that I would make the transformation.

In reality, my weight just stays the same. During the entire pandemic, it stayed the same. Why that happened is because of my relationship with food. I did not just eat when I was hungry, I ate when I was bored. I sometimes was too exhausted to make dinner so I’d skip it, having too few calories throughout the day, justifying it as the way I do not gain weight, forgetting that I do not lose weight either.

Finally, I am starting to realize, after talking with an intentional eating therapist, that I have to eat enough each day to maintain my overall health and bone health throughout my life and be at my best. It’s clear that starving myself may have caused insulin resistance, and that this error can be reversed in my body if I just satisfy my hunger when my body says I am hungry.

--

--

Aimée Sparrow

An explorer of the philosophy behind psychology and what we dream to inspire peace and solace from suffering. aimee.sparrowling@gmail.com