Peacefulness and Calm are Closer than You Think

To reduce anxiety, stay focused on managing outside influences.

Aimée Sparrow
2 min readOct 13, 2022
Pixabay License

It took me an incredibly long time to discover that being with myself, giving myself space and time, and not frantically plotting and planning gave me a sense of calm. From this peace comes happiness and stability, which I do not want to give up. Indeed, letting go of what I couldn’t control made me realize how much I could enjoy.

At this time, there is no reason to fret. For the most part, everything is under control, given the circumstances. Nothing is severe enough to worry about unless I make myself anxious over imagined things. As someone with bipolar disorder, the extremes in moods change me personally throughout the day, so I tend to consider drastic measures when I’m worried or struggling to ease my suffering.

Those dooming thoughts and intense emotions cause great unrest and disturb my naturally peaceful and happy state. Over time, these moments compound to create maladaptive reactions and habits to simple yet frustrating events and situations. I then end up neglecting those I love and care about.

Developing a happy life takes time and effort. It also requires planning and perseverance. Much of this is done subconsciously by the entirety of our minds and mental…

--

--

Aimée Sparrow

An explorer of the philosophy behind psychology and what we dream to inspire peace and solace from suffering. aimee.sparrowling@gmail.com