Receiving Adequate Preventative Healthcare

Advocate for yourself to gain advice and information.

Aimée Sparrow
2 min readMar 5, 2023
Pixabay License

Why should we compromise regarding our long-term well-being and maximum life expectancy? Time is our most valuable asset. After reading David Sinclair’s book Lifespan, I wondered whether I could live to 100 and maintain my health. What would I see, and what life would I lead? It made me endlessly fascinated. Earlier that year, I started Googling many of my health problems and figuring out which action to take to find out more or rule out certain issues. It was close to hypochondriac behavior.

This, inspired by dating an MD, made me question whether, in the US, we need to take particular care in advocating for our health and wellness, to catch issues before they become serious, and to age gracefully. That’s why I decided to sign up for Forward and try it out, to see whether they would help me toward my goal of longevity and wellness.

Since joining, I have investigated how to lessen my prediabetes, from seeing an endocrinologist to starting a medically supervised lifestyle change program from a psychological base. Then, I focused on reducing stress and anxiety in various ways, including therapy, a positive life outlook, a solution-oriented mindset, and an action plan using cognitive behavioral therapy. With constant support from the…

--

--

Aimée Sparrow

An explorer of the philosophy behind psychology and what we dream to inspire peace and solace from suffering. aimee.sparrowling@gmail.com