Why We Persist

Where does our meaning come from?

Aimée Sparrow
3 min readFeb 26, 2022
Pixabay License

We each have an ideal image of what we see as the best possible scenario our lives could take. We make decisions based on reaching those goals. In order to be successful, our short-term decisions must lead up to long-term ones. That’s why research is important.

Last year, 2021, my goal was to eliminate anxiety, reduce stress, and stop worrying so much. Early 2022, I achieved the most important part of that goal — to place more power into what I know and not what I think could be the case. Often my assumptions are wrong and cause me to worry needlessly in the first place.

I want to keep living and doing what I do because it gives me an inner sense of satisfaction. I want to learn about myself and what I should do to make the right decisions in the future even though things might not be the way I would have ideally wanted them to be right now.

The trick is to be patient and put forward our best selves at every moment. We can only just be who always set out to be and live fully as that person. If we do not take care of ourselves, we cannot treat others with the respect they deserve. To make others happy we must maintain happiness ourselves.

To keep going, we must decide that what we see in this world is worth the effort we put in. Is there anything we would love…

--

--

Aimée Sparrow

An explorer of the philosophy behind psychology and what we dream to inspire peace and solace from suffering. aimee.sparrowling@gmail.com